Victorian Cornwall

`Victorian Cornwall' is a prolifically illustrated tour around the county using wherever possible the earliest views available from the author's extensive collection.

Victorian Cornwall

Author: Malcolm McCarthy

Publisher:

ISBN: 9781781557198

Page: 224

View: 592

Transactions of the Royal Geological Society of Cornwall

Victoria . Department of Mines . Annual Reports of the Secretary for Mines , to the
Hon . Duncan Gillies , M.P. , Minister of Mines for Victoria , for the years 1888 ,
1889 . Folio . Melbourne , 1889-90 . Gold Fields of Victoria . Reports of the Mining
 ...

Transactions of the Royal Geological Society of Cornwall

Author: Royal Geological Society of Cornwall

Publisher:

ISBN:

Page:

View: 655

Vol. 6, includes the society's annual reports for 1844-46.

Daniel s Daughter

Finalist for the RNA Historical Romantic Novel of the Year Award. Sometimes the truth is not easy to say and even harder to hear … Cornwall, 1895 Grace Kellow is a young woman with a strong sense of who she is and where she comes from.

Daniel s Daughter

Author: Victoria Cornwall

Publisher: Choc Lit

ISBN: 1781893373

Page: 320

View: 317

Sometimes the truth is not easy to say and even harder to hear … Cornwall, 1895 Grace Kellow is a young woman with a strong sense of who she is and where she comes from. As the daughter of a well-respected Cornish dairy owner Daniel Kellow, her existence in the village of Trehale is comfortable and peaceful. But then handsome Talek Danning comes striding over Hel Tor, and soon after his arrival Grace is hit with a revelation that leaves her questioning her identity and her place in the Trehale community. In her hour of need, Talek and his sister Amelia offer Grace sanctuary – but wherever Grace runs, her secret will follow …

Victorian Visions of Suburban Utopia

The Royal Cornwall Gazette published a passing reference to Etymonia that
reveals many Victorian readers still held utopian literature with sufficient gravity to
make serious comparisons between the architectural innovations proposed in ...

Victorian Visions of Suburban Utopia

Author: Nathaniel Robert Walker

Publisher: Oxford University Press, USA

ISBN: 0198861443

Page: 576

View: 261

A study of British and American Utopian writing of the 1800s in the context of developments in real architectural, political, and cultural life. The book studies utopian visions published in the UK and the USA in the 1800s by writers such Robert Owen, James Silk Buckingham, Edward Bellamy, and William Morris.

The Victorian Reports

In 1909 one William Cornwall died , leaving by his will property in Victoria to his
mother , Kate Cornwall , who was domiciled and resident in England . She gave
a power of attorney to Edward Cornwall , a brother of William , to apply in Victoria
 ...

The Victorian Reports

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Page:

View: 207

The Daughter of River Valley

Can you trust a man with no name? Cornwall, 1861 Beth Jago appears to have the idyllic life, she has a trade to earn a living and a cottage of her own in Cornwall’s beautiful River Valley.

The Daughter of River Valley

Author: Victoria Cornwall

Publisher: Choc Lit

ISBN: 1781893799

Page: 200

View: 260

Can you trust a man with no name? Cornwall, 1861 Beth Jago appears to have the idyllic life, she has a trade to earn a living and a cottage of her own in Cornwall’s beautiful River Valley. Yet appearances can be deceptive … Beth has a secret. Since inheriting her isolated cottage she’s been receiving threats, so when she finds a man in her home she acts on her instincts. One frying pan to the head and she has robbed the handsome stranger of his memory and almost killed him. Fearful he may die, she reluctantly nurses the intruder back to health. Yet can she trust the man with no name who has entered her life, or is he as dangerous as his nightmares suggest? As they learn to trust one another, the outside threats worsen. Are they linked to the man with no past? Or is the real danger still outside waiting … and watching them both?

Daughter of the House Choc Lit

Captivating tale.

Daughter of the House  Choc Lit

Author: Victoria Cornwall

Publisher: Choc Lit

ISBN: 1781893772

Page: 200

View: 820

Captivating tale. Perfect for fans of Poldark, Tracy Rees, Fiona Valpy & Dilly Court. The daughter of the house is often overlooked … Evelyn Pendragon is spirited but lonely, and largely ignored by her parents whose attentions are taken up with her brother, Nicholas: the expected heir to the family’s Cornish estate and the one who will carry on the Pendragon name. Stifled by her aristocratic existence, Evelyn finds companionship in an unlikely place when she befriends Drake Vennor, an apprentice gardener on the estate. But When Evelyn’s life is thrown into turmoil by a tragedy, she realises just how much she has come to rely on Drake. Will family expectations and the burden of the Pendragon name mean she must turn her back on him when she needs him the most?

Victorian Bestseller

... Ledbetter,“Taking the Multitudes Abroad: Dinah Mulock Craik's Travel
Narratives in Victorian Family Magazines,” Victorian Periodicals Review 15, no. ...
DMC, An Unsentimental Journey Through Cornwall (London: Macmillan, 1884),
54. 96.

Victorian Bestseller

Author: Karen Bourrier

Publisher: University of Michigan Press

ISBN: 0472131389

Page: 362

View: 350

When novelist Dinah Craik (1826–87) died, expressions of grief came from Lord Alfred Tennyson, Matthew Arnold, Robert Browning, T.H. Huxley, and James Russell Lowell, among others, and even Queen Victoria picked up her pen to offer her consolation to the widower. Despite Craik’s enormous popularity throughout a literary career that spanned forty years, she is now all but forgotten. Yet, in an otherwise respectable life bookended by scandal, this was precisely the way that she wanted it. Victorian Bestseller is the first book to relate the story of Dinah Craik’s remarkable life. Combining extensive archival work with theoretical work in disability studies and the professionalization of women’s authorship, Karen Bourrier engagingly traces the contours of this author’s life. Craik, who wrote extensively about disability in her work, was no stranger to it in her personal and professional life, marked by experiences of mental and physical disability, and the ebb and flow of health. Following scholarship in the ethics of care and disability studies, the book posits Craik as an interdependent subject, placing her within a network of writers, publishers, editors and artists, friends, and family members. Victorian Bestseller also traces the conditions in the material history of the book that allowed Victorian women writers’ careers to flourish. In doing so, the biography connects corporeality, gender, and the material history of the book to the professionalization of Victorian women’s authorship.

Cornwall the Isles of Scilly

building you see today is predominantly Victorian, albeit giving the outward
appearance of a C 17 creation. The internal planning is resolutely Victorian and
one of the delights of the house is the picture it presents of Victorian Society and
the ...

Cornwall   the Isles of Scilly

Author: David Clegg

Publisher: Troubador Publishing Ltd

ISBN: 9781904744993

Page: 285

View: 237

This second edition of the best selling guide to Cornwall is fully updated for 2005. No other guide provides as complete coverage of where to go, what to do, sites of interest, essays on history, architecture and art, as well as comprehensive listings of places to stay, eat and drink. It is the only guide you need.

The Victorian Working Class

3 1849 Somerset , Cornwall Condition of the Labourer and Devon Nov. 7 1849
Devon , Somerset , Physical Condition of the Cornwall and Dorset Labourer Nov.
10 1849 Devon , Somerset and Wages and Diet Cornwall Nov. 14 1849 Cornwall
 ...

The Victorian Working Class

Author: P. E. Razzell

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 1317219430

Page: 338

View: 702

In 1849, the Morning Chronicle, a leading Victorian newspaper, embarked on a social investigation of working class life in England and Wales. Set in the immediate context of concern over Chartism and the cholera epidemic, its intention was to provide a full and detailed description of the moral, intellectual, material and physical condition of the industrial poor. First published in 1973, this book reflects through the survey the highly complex nature of nineteenth-century social structure throughout England and South Wales, covering descriptions of contrasting political orientations, work and leisure patterns, sex and family, education and religion. In doing so, it provides a classic introduction to the social structures of the working class during the nineteenth century. This book will be of interest to those studying Victorian history and sociology.

The Cornish Overseas

In this fully revised and up-dated edition of The Cornish Overseas, Philip Payton draws upon almost two decades of additional research undertaken by historians the world over since the first paperback version of this book was published in ...

The Cornish Overseas

Author: Philip Payton

Publisher: University of Exeter Press

ISBN: 1905816138

Page:

View: 146

The Captain s Daughter

Bodmin Moor, Cornwall, 1868.

The Captain s Daughter

Author: Victoria Cornwall

Publisher: Choc Lit

ISBN: 1781893810

Page: 320

View: 975

Bodmin Moor, Cornwall, 1868. Janey Carhart is the middle-class daughter of a captain, but a family tragedy for which she was blamed led to her being cast out by her one remaining relative. Determined to make something of herself, Janey finds work as a lady’s maid at the imposing Bosvenna Manor on the edge of Bodmin Moor. There, Janey lives a lonely existence caring for Lady Brockenshaw who is blind, whilst being shunned by the other serving staff. But then Janey catches the attention of two men – James Brockenshaw and Daniel Kellow. James is Lady Brockenshaw’s son, whose eloquent letters to his mother warm Janey’s heart. Daniel works on a neighbouring farm. On the surface, his rugged looks and the lascivious rumours that surround him suggest he is nothing but trouble. But are appearances deceptive? And will Janey find out the hard way that not everything is what it seems?

The Irish in Victorian Britain

Camborne experience , 1861 – 82 Louise Miskell Cornwall is one corner of the
country which has been largely untouched by the burgeoning historiography of
the Irish in Britain . In one sense its absence is understandable : the county was ...

The Irish in Victorian Britain

Author: Roger Swift

Publisher: Four Courts PressLtd

ISBN:

Page: 320

View: 734

This book illustrates the diversity of the Irish experience by reference to studies of specific towns and regions which have hitherto received little attention from historians of the Irish in Britain during the Victorian period.

Devon Cornwall Notes Queries

Robert Newton , Victorian Exeter 1837 - 1914 , Leicester , 1968 , XIII . 2 . Sidney
Pollard , ' Nineteenth century co - operation : from community building to shop
keeping ' , Essays in labour history , eds . Asa Briggs and John Saville , 1967 , 74
 ...

Devon   Cornwall Notes   Queries

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Page:

View: 847

The Victorian Maps of Devon

The Johnstons produced a map of the whole country , Modern Map of England
and Wales constructed by W & AK Johnston ( BL 1175 ( 99 ) ) and transfers of
Devon with Cornwall were used for Murray's Handbook Devon , Cornwall 4th ,
5th ...

The Victorian Maps of Devon

Author: Kit Batten

Publisher:

ISBN:

Page: 196

View: 415