Treason and the State

The book examines how these trials constituted practical contexts in which ideas of statehood and public authority legitimated courses of political action that might ordinarily be considered unlawful - or at least not within the compass of ...

Treason and the State

Author: D. Alan Orr

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

ISBN: 9781139439459

Page:

View: 487

This study traces the transition of treason from a personal crime against the monarch to a modern crime against the impersonal state. It consists of four highly detailed case studies of major state treason trials in England beginning with that of Thomas Wentworth, first Earl of Strafford, in the spring of 1641 and ending with that of Charles Stuart, King of England, in January 1649. The book examines how these trials constituted practical contexts in which ideas of statehood and public authority legitimated courses of political action that might ordinarily be considered unlawful - or at least not within the compass of the foundational statute of Edward III. The ensuing narrative reveals how the events of the 1640s in England challenged existing conceptions of treason as a personal crime against the king, his family and his servants, and pushed the ascendant parliamentarian faction towards embracing an impersonal conception of the state that perceived public authority as completely independent of any individual or group.

Laws Against Treason Sedition Etc Communication from the Law Officer of the Division of Insular Affairs Making a Comparison Between the Existing Laws of the United States Agaisnt Treason Sedition and Misprision and the Provisions of Act No 292 of the Philippine Commission

TREASON . SEC . 37 . Treason defined . — Treason against the people of the
State consists in 1 . Levying war against the people of the State , within this State
; or 2 . A combination of two or more persons by force to usurp the government of
 ...

Laws Against Treason  Sedition  Etc  Communication from the Law Officer of the Division of Insular Affairs  Making a Comparison Between the Existing Laws of the United States Agaisnt Treason  Sedition  and Misprision and the Provisions of Act No  292  of the Philippine Commission

Author: United States. Bureau of Insular Affairs

Publisher:

ISBN:

Page: 42

View: 272

Includes Phillipines Act no. 292 printed in parallel columns with equivalent U.S. federal and state legislation, with an appendix of state laws against treason and sedition.

State of Treason

Constable becomes an unwitting pawn, in a complex game of thrones and power. State of Treason is the first in a series of Elizabethan thrillers featuring William Constable. Recommended for fans of CJ Sansom, S J Parris and Rory Clements.

State of Treason

Author: Paul Walker

Publisher:

ISBN: 9781071159675

Page: 287

View: 626

"A gripping and evocative page-turner that vibrantly brings Elizabeth's London to life." Steven Veerapen, author of A Dangerous Trade London 1578 - a cauldron of conspiracy, intrigue and torture. The might of Spain and the growing influence of the Catholic League in France all threaten the stability of Queen Elizabeth and her state. William Constable, a physician and astrologer, is summoned to the presence of the Queen's spymaster, Sir Francis Walsingham. He is charged to assist a renowned Puritan, John Foxe, in uncovering the secrets of a mysterious cabinet containing an astrological chart and coded message. Together, these claim Elizabeth has a hidden, illegitimate child (an "unknowing maid") who will be declared to the masses and serve as the focus for an invasion. Constable must uncover the identity of the plotters, unaware that he is also under suspicion. A connection to his estranged mentor, Doctor Dee, comes under scrutiny. Pressured into taking up a position as a court physician, Constable becomes a reluctant spy. Do the stars and cipher speak true, or is there some other malign intent in the complex web of scheming? Constable becomes an unwitting pawn, in a complex game of thrones and power. State of Treason is the first in a series of Elizabethan thrillers featuring William Constable. Recommended for fans of CJ Sansom, S J Parris and Rory Clements.

A Digest of the Statute Laws of the State of Georgia

Treason - Insurrection . THIRD DIVISION . CRIMES AGAINST THE STATE AND
PEOPLE . Sec . 23. Treason and Insurrection 24. Treason , tirst degree , Death .
25. Second degree , j enitentiary 4 y'rs . “ 26. Insurrection , Death . 27. Incendiary
 ...

A Digest of the Statute Laws of the State of Georgia

Author: Georgia

Publisher:

ISBN:

Page: 1252

View: 737

The General Statutes of the State of Minnesota

Treason against this state shall consist only in levying state , defined . war
against the same , or in adhering to the enemies thereof ... Whoever commits
treason against this state shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison
for life .

The General Statutes of the State of Minnesota

Author: Minnesota

Publisher:

ISBN:

Page: 874

View: 806

The Statutes at Large of the State of Minnesota

OF OFFENSES AGAINST THE SOVEREIGNTY OF THE STATE . ( This Title is
Chapter XCIII . of the Statutes of 1866 . ) Sec . 14 ( 1 ) . Treason against state ,
defined . — Treason against this state shall consist only in levying war against
the ...

The Statutes at Large of the State of Minnesota

Author: Minnesota

Publisher:

ISBN:

Page: 1375

View: 456

The Statutes of the State of Missouri

SECTION SECTION 1 , Treason against the State , and its punish - | 4 . Two or
more persons combining to usurp ment . . or overthrow the government ,
punishment 2 . Misprison of treason , and its punishment . for . 3 . Punishment for
giving aid ...

The Statutes of the State of Missouri

Author: Missouri

Publisher:

ISBN:

Page: 1684

View: 309