The Stone Wife

The chanceto possessthe stone carving had obviously excitedhim.And so
Gildersleeve had become one more man to fall under the influence oftheWife
ofBath, one more who ultimately perished. Job done,his eyelids getting heavier,
Diamond ...

The Stone Wife

Author: Peter Lovesey

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0751554065

Page: 400

View: 973

The fourteenth Peter Diamond case has the eminent detective in pursuit of a murderer after a theft at an auction house goes wrong. Just as the bidding gets exciting in a Bath auction house, three armed men stage a hold-up and attempt to steal Lot 129, a medieval carving of the Wife of Bath. The highest bidder, appalled to have the prize snatched away, tries to stop them and is shot dead. Peter Diamond, head of the murder squad, soon finds himself sharing an office with the stone wife - until he is ejected. To his extreme annoyance the lump of stone appears to exert a malign influence over him and his investigation. Refusing to be beaten, he rallies his team and begins finding suspects and motives. The case demands that someone goes undercover. The dangerous mission falls to Sergeant Ingeborg Smith, reverting to her journalist persona to get the confidence of a wealthy local criminal through his pop star girlfriend. And soon, murder makes a reappearance . . .

The Stone Wife Geek Force Five 6

This volume also features a bonus story by editor E. Christopher Clark, "One Player or Two?

The Stone Wife  Geek Force Five  6

Author: Bethany Snyder

Publisher: Clarkwoods LLC

ISBN:

Page: 32

View: 728

“The Stone Wife,” a short story by Bethany Snyder, tells the tale of a rainy day gone wrong. When nobody shows up for Danny's little league practice, he follows a strange kid named Kevin into the creepy cemetery across the street in search of an adventure that Danny isn't ready for, unaware of grave consequences he can't imagine. This volume also features a bonus story by editor E. Christopher Clark, “One Player or Two?” That yarn is all about a college freshman named Evan and his father, who shared his obsession with an outdated video game that none of Evan’s family or friends can comprehend.

The Carpenter s Wife and Heart of Stone

Ana can depend on Rock…but can she learn to love him? Heart of Stone Work is widowed mother Tara Parnell's refuge. And with a major real-estate venture in the works, she won't let competitor Stanton "Stone" Dempsey get in her way!

The Carpenter s Wife and Heart of Stone

Author: Lenora Worth

Publisher: Steeple Hill

ISBN: 1426857012

Page: 512

View: 156

Stories of faithful love from Lenora Worth The Carpenter's Wife Tearoom owner Ana Hanson enjoys independence—until she's put in charge of her nieces. When local preacher and carpenter Rock Dempsey offers to help, she can't refuse. Ana can depend on Rock…but can she learn to love him? Heart of Stone Work is widowed mother Tara Parnell's refuge. And with a major real-estate venture in the works, she won't let competitor Stanton "Stone" Dempsey get in her way! Yet the more their paths cross, the more they realize that despite their opposing sides in business, they might be matched for happily ever after.

The Winemaker s Wife

Michel—with Theo a few steps behind him—seemed to be taking the soldiers to
the main entrance in the stone wall that separated their garden from the
vineyards beyond. When Michel's great-great-grandfather had constructed the
elaborate ...

The Winemaker s Wife

Author: Kristin Harmel

Publisher: Gallery Books

ISBN: 1982112301

Page: 432

View: 167

The author of the “engrossing” (People) international bestseller The Room on Rue Amélie returns with a moving story set amid the champagne vineyards of France during the darkest days of World War II, perfect for fans of Heather Morris’s The Tattooist of Auschwitz. Champagne, 1940: Inès has just married Michel, the owner of storied champagne house Maison Chauveau, when the Germans invade. As the danger mounts, Michel turns his back on his marriage to begin hiding munitions for the Résistance. Inès fears they’ll be exposed, but for Céline, the French-Jewish wife of Chauveau’s chef de cave, the risk is even greater—rumors abound of Jews being shipped east to an unspeakable fate. When Céline recklessly follows her heart in one desperate bid for happiness, and Inès makes a dangerous mistake with a Nazi collaborator, they risk the lives of those they love—and the vineyard that ties them together. New York, 2019: Recently divorced, Liv Kent is at rock bottom when her feisty, eccentric French grandmother shows up unannounced, insisting on a trip to France. But the older woman has an ulterior motive—and a tragic, decades-old story to share. When past and present finally collide, Liv finds herself on a road to salvation that leads right to the caves of the Maison Chauveau.

Uarda The burgomaster s wife

In these unsettled times our sacred lore is like a chariot on the declivity of a
precipice , and under the wheels thereof a stone . A child takes away the stone ,
and the chariot rolls down into the abyss and is dashed to pieces . Imagine the ...

Uarda  The burgomaster s wife

Author: Georg Ebers

Publisher:

ISBN:

Page:

View: 666

The poacher s wife

It was built of stone , but had been wainscoted half - way up with rich oak ,
curiously carved . Flowers , and fruits , and birds curled about , as in a maze ;
while here ... upon cence . of stone , the polished oak below , THE POACHER'S
WIFE . 277.

The poacher s wife

Author: Charlton Carew

Publisher:

ISBN:

Page:

View: 923

The Auld Kirk Cemetery

Samuel G. LOWRY 1858 - 1946 His wife Rebecca A. GORDON 1866 - 1940 W.J.
Gordon ( LOWRY } 1895 - 1920 167 . Infant daug of E.J. & Eliz . TRIBBLE , {
Margaret May TRIBBLE } March 3 , 1923 ( stone now mostly buried ) 172 .

The Auld Kirk Cemetery

Author: Gary John Byron

Publisher:

ISBN:

Page: 214

View: 179

A Noble Wife

You have only to place yourself in a straight line with three objects : the birch tree
on the farthest hillock , —the gap in this nearest one , -and this mosscovered
stone at the edge of the copse , which is only just visible , but can readily be
found ...

   A    Noble Wife

Author: John Saunders

Publisher:

ISBN:

Page:

View: 226

The Second Wife

The apparent defects in the stone are plainly to be discerned now . To - morrow
by daylight , beneath the ... had been done to prevent this . Even his physician
had been bribed to ignore , as the ravings of delirium , 294 THE SECOND WIFE .

The Second Wife

Author: Eugenie Marlitt

Publisher:

ISBN:

Page: 298

View: 932

The Dublin University Review

Yearly subscription Here lies CATHERINE FLYNN , francs , payable in adva SHE
WAS A GOOD WIFE AND AN Who was ... here ; Who never did aught to vex one :
With patience wait , prepare to die , Not like the woman under the next stone .

The Dublin University Review

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Page:

View: 323

Husband and wife

he persisted analytically . “ There ' s nothing more to see . The place is full of
shams , like every other part of the world . There are the burning sands , that burn
when the sun glares on them , and not otherwise ; and the stone that bears the
print ...

Husband and wife

Author: Marie Flora B. Leighton

Publisher:

ISBN:

Page:

View: 625

My wife did it and other tales

My wife. which I had long wished to see — the ruins of an ancient Franciscan
abbey ; and after partaking of such frugal fare as my host could procure , I set out
for them by the light of the moon now risen over the hills . A short walk brought
me ...

My wife did it  and other tales

Author: My wife

Publisher:

ISBN:

Page:

View: 176

Sister Wife

He shrugs. “It brings me peace.” Peace. I gaze into his eyes, which are pools of
calm. “Can you teach me to do it?” “There's really nothing to teach, Celeste. You
simply need patience. Then you feel for the hidden gravity of the stone. It's there.

Sister Wife

Author: Shelley Hrdlitschka

Publisher: Orca Book Publishers

ISBN: 155469714X

Page: 280

View: 875

In the isolated rural community of Unity, the people of The Movement live a simple life guided by a set of religious principles and laws that are unique to them. Polygamy is the norm, strict obedience is expected and it is customary for young girls to be assigned to much older husbands. Celeste was born and raised in Unity, yet she struggles to fit in. Perhaps it's because of Taviana, the girl who has come to live with them and entertains Celeste with forbidden stories, or Jon, the young man she has clandestine meetings with, or maybe it's the influence of Craig, the outsider she meets on the beach. Whatever it is, she struggles to accept her ordained life. At fifteen she is repulsed at the thought of being assigned to an older man and becoming a sister wife, and she knows for certain she is not cut out to raise children. She wants something more for herself, yet feels powerless to change her destiny because rebelling would bring shame upon her family. Celeste watches as Taviana leaves Unity, followed by Jon, and finally Craig, the boy who has taught her to think "outside the box." Although she is assigned to a caring man, his sixth wife, she is desperately unhappy. How will Celeste find her way out of Unity? Torn from the headlines and inspired by current events, Sister Wife is a compelling portrait of a community where the laws of the outside world are ignored and where individuality is punished.

Philip in Search of a Wife

SHAREPERE . family were , in some way , the victims of persecution through the
agency of the fellow Grimstone , whose face is an index of all that Lift up thine
eyes , afflicted soul ! is treacherous and base . The first day of the boy's visit , he ...

Philip in Search of a Wife

Author: Epes Sargent

Publisher:

ISBN:

Page: 30

View: 214