The Oxford Book of Children s Verse in America

He includes everyone's favorites, from Clement Clarke Moore's "A Visit from St. Nicholas" (a.k.a. "The Night Before Christmas") to the classic lines of Longfellow and Whittier.

The Oxford Book of Children s Verse in America

Author: Donald Hall

Publisher: Oxford University Press

ISBN: 019028174X

Page: 368

View: 171

Compiled by the award-winning poet and author of children's books, Donald Hall, this delightful anthology follows in the tradition of Iona and Peter Opie's classic Oxford Book of Children's Verse. Hall brings together poems written specifically for children and also those written for anyone and enjoyed by children and adults alike. He presents over two hundred fifty poems written by over one hundred different American poets--including anonymous works, ballads, and recitation pieces--that range from the Calvinist verses of the seventeenth century to the fabulous nonsense poems of the present. Drawing on literally thousands of sources--including Sunday School magazines, Christmas annuals for children, and such wonderful children's periodicals as St. Nicholas and Youth's Companion--Hall gives the modern reader a rich sampling of many poems never before anthologized. He includes everyone's favorites, from Clement Clarke Moore's "A Visit from St. Nicholas" (a.k.a. "The Night Before Christmas") to the classic lines of Longfellow and Whittier. Along with Sarah Josepha Hale's famous poem, "Mary's Lamb," we find poetry by Emily Dickinson, Mary Mapes Dodge, Palmer Cox, Sarah Orne Jewett, Laura E. Richards, and Gelett Burgess. He also covers the twentieth-century with verse by T.S. Eliot, Edna St. Vincent Millay, Langston Hughes, Ogden Nash, Dr. Seuss (Theodore Geisel), and Randall Jarrell, just to name a few. Hall concludes with the poetry of present-day writers such as Shel Silverstein and Nancy Willard. A testament to a captivating tradition in American literature, this anthology will encourage many hours of nostalgic browsing and reading aloud to children.

The Oxford Illustrated Book of American Children s Poems

An anthology of American poems, is arranged chronologically, from colonial alphabet rhymes to Native American cradle songs to contemporary poems. 50 illustrations, 20 in color.

The Oxford Illustrated Book of American Children s Poems

Author: Donald Hall

Publisher: Oxford University Press, USA

ISBN: 0195123735

Page: 96

View: 230

An anthology of American poems, arranged chronologically, from colonial alphabet rhymes to Native American cradle songs to contemporary poems.

The Oxford Anthology of African American Poetry

A definitive literary portrait of contrasting visions and styles covers the key issues important to the African-American experience, including poetry on slavery, the South; protest and resistance, music and religion, spirituality, sexuality ...

The Oxford Anthology of African American Poetry

Author: Arnold Rampersad

Publisher: Oxford University Press on Demand

ISBN: 0195125630

Page: 424

View: 177

A definitive literary portrait of contrasting visions and styles covers the key issues important to the African-American experience, including poetry on slavery, the South; protest and resistance, music and religion, spirituality, sexuality and love, and the idea of Africa.

The Best American Poetry 2007

He has published a novel and five collections of essays, the most recent of which,
Griffin, appeared this year from Essay ... including The Oxford Book of Children's
Verse in America (1990), The Oxford Book of American Literary Anecdotes ...

The Best American Poetry 2007

Author: Heather McHugh

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 0743299736

Page: 192

View: 571

An anthology of contemporary poets presents works that reflect the diversity in American poetry

The Oxford Book of American Short Stories

Presents a collection of fifty-six familiar and unfamiliar stories by such writers as Washington Irving, Ernest Hemingway, Edgar Allan Poe, Harriet Beecher Stowe, Henry James, and Kate Chopin.

The Oxford Book of American Short Stories

Author: Joyce Carol Oates

Publisher: Oxford University Press, USA

ISBN: 9780195092622

Page: 768

View: 573

Presents a collection of fifty-six familiar and unfamiliar stories by such writers as Washington Irving, Ernest Hemingway, Edgar Allan Poe, Harriet Beecher Stowe, Henry James, and Kate Chopin.

Childrens Catalog

08 1 English poetry - Collected works 2 American poe . try - Collected works
ISBN 0 - 690 - 59690 - 1 LC 60 - 11543 ... Saturday Rev Author , title and first line
indexes The Oxford Book of children ' s verse ; chosen and ed . with notes ...

Childrens  Catalog

Author: H.W. Wilson Company

Publisher:

ISBN:

Page:

View: 518

The 1st ed. includes an index to v. 28-36 of St. Nicholas.

Cullinan and Galda s Literature and the Child

... A New Treasury of Children's Poetry: Old Favorites and New Discoveries Hall,
Donald, The Oxford Book of Children's Verse in America Lalicki, Barbara, If There
Were Dreams to Sell MacKay, David, A Flock of Words: An Anthology of Poetry ...

Cullinan and Galda s Literature and the Child

Author: Lee Galda

Publisher: Wadsworth Publishing Company

ISBN: 9780534246839

Page: 532

View: 567

CD-ROM contains: Link to dynamic database-driven Website.

Honey for a Teen s Heart

Using Books to Communicate with Teens Gladys Hunt, Barbara Hampton. The
stone is rolled back, not ... It is really a book for all ages, as is The Oxford Book of
Children's Verse in America, edited by Donald Hall. Add to your personal ...

Honey for a Teen s Heart

Author: Gladys Hunt

Publisher: Zondervan

ISBN: 0310872650

Page: 304

View: 802

Help Your Teen Catch the Lifelong Reading Bug.Honey for a Teen’s Heart spells out how good books can help you and your teenager communicate heart-to-heart about ideas, values, and the various issues of a Christian worldview. Sharing the adventure of a book lets both of you know the same people, see the same sights, face the same choices, and feel the same emotions. Life spills out of books--giving you plenty to talk about! But Honey for a Teen’s Heart will do more than strengthen the bonds between you and your son or daughter. You’ll also learn how to help your teen catch the reading habit and become a lover of good books. Gladys Hunt’s insights on how to read a book, what to look for in a book, and how to question what you read will challenge you and your teenager alike. It’s training for life! And it’s fabulous preparation for teens entering college. Including an annotated list of over four hundred books, Honey for a Teen’s Heart gives you expert guidance on the very best books for teens.

The Best in Children s Books

The Oxford Book of Children's Verse in America . Oxford , 1985. ISBN 0-19-
503439-9 . 319p . $ 18.95 This should prove to be of great interest to readers of
poetry , teachers of poetry , students of the history of children's literature , and
those ...

The Best in Children s Books

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Page:

View: 495

Behold the Child

American Children and Their Books, 1621-1922 Gillian Avery, Author of
Children's and Adult Fiction and of Studies of ... fifty years ago - is neatly summed
up by the contrasting jackets for the Oxford Book of Children ' s Verse in America
( 1985 ) ...

Behold the Child

Author: Gillian Avery

Publisher:

ISBN:

Page: 226

View: 426

An account of children's literature from colonial times to the early 20th century.

To read literature fiction poetry drama

This book introduces the three principal types or genres of literature: fiction, poetry, and drama in a way that helps students read literature with pleasure, intelligence, and discrimination.

To read literature  fiction  poetry  drama

Author: Donald Hall

Publisher: Holt McDougal

ISBN: 9780030062070

Page: 1281

View: 655

This book introduces the three principal types or genres of literature: fiction, poetry, and drama in a way that helps students read literature with pleasure, intelligence, and discrimination.

The Junior Bookshelf

When Friedrich Bienmann, the old master carpenter, decides to try his luck in
America, taking with him his gang of ... The Oxford Book of Children's Verse in
America 319pp 220 x 145 O.U.P. £15.00 Emily Dickinson wrote of 'prancing
poetry'.

The Junior Bookshelf

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Page:

View: 956