The Burning Leg

Duncan Minshull is a producer at BBC Radio and the editor of various anthologies, including The Vintage Book of Walking. He has also written aboout the subject of walking for newspapers and magazines. He lives in west Lodon.

The Burning Leg

Author: Duncan Minshull

Publisher: Hesperus Press

ISBN: 9781843917151

Page: 104

View: 534

`Something always happens on a walk, either in the head or on the road ahead. I hope you enjoy following them all. Duncan Minshull The little man then made an attack. He climbed with his hands and feet, wildly. Brambles forced him back and stones slid beneath his feet. The peak swayed and tottered and was about to smite with a granite arm. The summit was a blaze of red wrath. But the little man at last reached the top. He swaggered with valor to the edge of the cliff. His hands were scornfully in his pockets. He gazed at the western horizon edged sharply against a yellow sky. `Ho!' he said. `There's Boyd's house and the Lumberland Pike.' The mountain under his feet was motionless. Stephen Crane, `The Mesmeric Mountain `I am looking for something more mysterious. For the path you read about in books, the old lane choked with undergrowth, whose entrance the weary prince could not discover.'---Alain-Fournier Walkers, like lovers of literature, are driven by the urge to explore, and writers have blessed their fictional characters with itchy feet since the earliest of narratives. Milton's Adam and Eve leaving Eden, Mrs Yeobright's maternal anxiety spurring her across country in Hardy's The Return of the Native, militant miners in Zola's Germinal: walks found in novels, short stories and even drama can have a multitude of meanings. Editor Duncan Minshull here forges a botd path through the greatest of the world's literature, collecting extracts from Dickens and Dostoevsky, Proust and Poe, Kipling, Kafka and many more to show imaginations time and again set in motion by the simple act of walking. Duncan Minshull is a producer at BBC Radio and the editor of various anthologies, including The Vintage Book of Walking. He has also written aboout the subject of walking for newspapers and magazines. He lives in west Lodon. Will Self is the author of seven novels, four collections of shorter fiction and four novellas. He is a contributor to a plethora of publications and a regular radio and television broadcaster. He is also a notable walker and writer on walking, most recently in Psycho Too, his second collection of ambulatory pieces for The Independent newspaper. He lives in London.

The Encyclopedia of pure materia medica v 9 1879

throbbing pain on the outer side of the knee while sitting , aggravated on walking
( after six hours ) , - Leg . Numerous varices , large and small , develop over the
whole right leg ( second month ) , ' . — Both tibiæ red and swollen , with burning ...

The Encyclopedia of pure materia medica v  9  1879

Author: Timothy Field Allen

Publisher:

ISBN:

Page:

View: 223

A Cyclopaedia of drug pathogenesy v 4 1890 1901

P . m . , strong inflation of abdomen ; burning in stomach ; dry , short , hacking
cough , and peevish humour . ... Although no Thuja had been taken , still the
burning in r . lower leg developed itself in forenoon , as did also , for a little while ,
a ...

A Cyclopaedia of drug pathogenesy v  4  1890 1901

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Page:

View: 814

The Encyclopedia of pure materia medica v 2 1875

Knee , Leg , and Ankle . Pain in knees and legs , ' . — Tearing on the inside of the
knee , extending to the middle of the tibia , relieved when walking , returns when
sitting , - . - Cutting - burning in the right kuee - pan , ' : - [ 530 . ] In the right ...

The Encyclopedia of pure materia medica v  2  1875

Author: Timothy Field Allen

Publisher:

ISBN:

Page:

View: 629

The Argosy

She tried to put the flame out with her apron , but the burning leg set fire to the
apron , and the Commandant , now in real distress , cried out for aid from without
. Some people soon rushed in : Basset also was roused : both leg and apron
were ...

The Argosy

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Page:

View: 872

Physiological Responses to Burning Injury

... area of the burn , the extent of the leg burn or the elevated rectal temperature (
38.2 + 0.2 ° C ) in the burned patients . The rate of blood flow in an entire limb
has been measured at intervals during the first two days after burning ( Clayton et
 ...

Physiological Responses to Burning Injury

Author: J. W. L. Davies

Publisher:

ISBN:

Page: 649

View: 222

Incl. systemic g

The Burning Truth

nerve root at the original site of the injury. I reminded them that, since this recent
incident a week ago, he'd been intensely fearful of putting any weight on that leg
or letting anyone touch it. I told them that up until that point, Devin had been slow
 ...

The Burning Truth

Author: Wendy Weckstein

Publisher: Abbott Press

ISBN: 9781458202208

Page: 214

View: 410

After a seemingly insignificant fall off of his brother’s shoulders at a high school soccer game, thirteen-year-old Devin Weckstein was diagnosed with Complex Regional Pain Syndrome. The bright, musically talented, and energetic boy turned into a debilitated young man seemingly overnight. His parents sought every treatment possible, but no one could have imagined the challenges that lay ahead. The Burning Truth chronicles the incredible journey of mother and son as they not only deal with chronic pain, but also attempt to find a cure for Devin’s illness. With a deeply honest voice, Weckstein relives their frustrations with physicians and the medical care system, the special education within the school system, the inconceivable misconceptions regarding pain in children, and the daunting world of medical marijuana. Two tireless years of diligent searching later, the Wecksteins learned about Dr. David Sherry from the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia. Despair turned to hope. During his five grueling weeks at the hospital, Devin underwent the aggressive treatment that would bring this courageous young man back to life. Told from a mother’s perspective, The Burning Truth reveals the heartache, courage, and strength of the Weckstein family in their search to help Devin; it ultimately proves the power of family, love, and the human spirit.

The Burning

Instead, I turned away, and as the PTs carefully swung my legs back onto the bed
, a few tears dripped onto my gown. For weeks I had been wearing pneumatic
compression stockings over my legs as I lay in bed. Every minute or so, ...

The Burning

Author: Jane Casey

Publisher: Minotaur Books

ISBN: 1429921439

Page: 368

View: 458

A determined young police constable goes it alone against an enigmatic killer and her bosses in a series debut for fans of Sophie Hannah and Tana French The Burning Man. It's the name the media has given a brutal murderer who has beaten four young women to death before setting their bodies ablaze in secluded areas of London's parks. And now there's a fifth. Maeve Kerrigan is an ambitious detective constable, keen to make her mark on the murder task force. Her male colleagues believe Maeve's empathy makes her weak, but the more she learns about the latest victim, Rebecca Haworth, from her grieving friends and family, the more determined Maeve becomes to bring her murderer to justice. But how do you catch a killer no one has seen when so much of the evidence has gone up in smoke? Maeve's frenetic hunt for a killer in Jane Casey's gripping series debut will entrance even the most jaded suspense readers.

The Chronic Diseases

Sharp , darling tearing , in the lower part of the left tibia , in the evening when in
bed Violent tearing in the left leg , darting ... Swelling of the legs extending
beyond the knees , with large red , hot patches , painful and burning , especially
on the ...

The Chronic Diseases

Author: Samuel Hahnemann

Publisher:

ISBN:

Page:

View: 513

The Ghost of Peg Leg Peter and Other Stories of Old New York

And it kept on burning like the burning bush in the Bible that did not burn to ashes
. The flames gave no smoke and did not destroy . They just leaped around and all
over the ship . All over the sails and all over the rigging , heating all to red ...

The Ghost of Peg Leg Peter  and Other Stories of Old New York

Author: Moritz Adolph Jagendorf

Publisher:

ISBN:

Page: 125

View: 798

A collection of 14 folk tales from New York City with notes on the stories and words and music of 5 related songs.

Boston Medical and Surgical Journal

ot “ right, 14 “ Cheek, left, 2 “ “ right, 1 “ On the right leg there was considerable
hyperaesthesia, the contact of the two points causing great discomfort, much
more than is natural, and producing a complaint of a burning sensation. The
same ...

Boston Medical and Surgical Journal

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Page:

View: 856

The Burning Man

... off their leg irons ; poison the ships ' officers ; burn the ship and get away with
the boats . They had knives and files and saws from sailors who were concerned
to aid them . Several had got their leg irons off when the plot was discovered .

The Burning Man

Author: Sarah Gertrude Millin

Publisher:

ISBN:

Page: 310

View: 160

The Lancet

She had seen better days , and clearly felt the change for the worse A CASE OF
GANGRENE OF THE LEG PREin her social life ... Her account was that twelve
years ago she began to suffer from a burning sensation of the tongue , BY
WILLIAM ...

The Lancet

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Page:

View: 281

The Medical Times and Gazette

He describes a continuous , and the lump began gradually to increase , but did
burning feeling from the knee to the foot , and thought in the not prevent him
following his usual avocations until five weeks night he had lost part of his leg .

The Medical Times and Gazette

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Page:

View: 635

The Boston Medical and Surgical Journal

Several years Inside of leg , left , 34 inches only 1 point . since he received an
injury which has causright , 3 Front of thigh , left 32 ed him a lame back since ...
He then walked a short disburning sensation was felt to less degree in the left leg
.

The Boston Medical and Surgical Journal

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Page:

View: 535

Encyclopedia of Pure Materia Medica

throbbing pain on the outer side of the knee while sitting , aggravated on walking
( after six hours ) , " --Leg . Numerous varices , large and small , develop over the
whole right leg ( second month ) , " .- Both tibiæ red and swollen , with burning ...

Encyclopedia of Pure Materia Medica

Author: Timothy Field Allen

Publisher:

ISBN:

Page:

View: 201