For Love of Country

We hear from an astonishing range of writers from Robert Pinsky to Cornel West to Gertrude Himmelfarb to Sissela Bok. This is contemporary American philosophy at its most relevant and readable.

For Love of Country

Author: Martha Craven Nussbaum

Publisher: Beacon Press

ISBN: 9780807043295

Page: 155

View: 795

For Love of Country is a rare forum: a real conversation among some of our most prominent intellectuals about an issue of urgent public importance. At the center of this lively and utterly readable debate book is Martha Nussbaumi's passionate argument against patriotism. At a time when our connections and obligations to the rest of the world grow only stronger, we should reject patriotism as a parochial ideal, she says, and instead see ourselves first of all as "citizens of the world." Fifteen writers and thinkers respond to Nussbaum's piece in short, hard-hitting, often brilliant essays, acknowledging the power of her argument, but often defending patriotisms and other local commitments with an eloquence equal to Nussbaum's. We hear from an astonishing range of writers from Robert Pinsky to Cornel West to Gertrude Himmelfarb to Sissela Bok. This is contemporary American philosophy at its most relevant and readable. At a time when debates about crises in Bosnia or Somalia are dominated by politicians and military leaders, here are the voices of philosophers and poets, literary scholars and historians. A book of surprising insights and diversity, For Love of Country is especially written for a wide audience and is sure to spark debate. NEW DEMOCRACY FORUM A series of short paperback originals exploring creative solutions to our most urgent national concerns. The series editors (for Boston Review), Joshua Cohen and Joel Rogers, aim to foster politically engaged, intellectually honest, and morally serious debate about fundamental issues—both on and off the agenda of conventional politics.

Whose Love of Which Country

The volume, stemming from the long-term cooperation of scholars working on East Central European intellectual history, discusses the patterns of patriotic and national identification in the light of the multiplicity of levels of ethnic, ...

Whose Love of Which Country

Author: Balázs Trencsényi

Publisher: BRILL

ISBN: 9004182624

Page: 784

View: 391

The volume, stemming from the long-term cooperation of scholars working on East Central European intellectual history, discusses the patterns of patriotic and national identification in the light of the multiplicity of levels of ethnic, cultural and political allegiances characterizing this region in the early modern period.

For Love of Country

Nationalism and patriotism are two of the most powerful forces shaping world history. Maurizio Viroli's wide-ranging study shows exactly why patriotism is a political virtue and nationalism a political vice.

For Love of Country

Author: Maurizio Viroli

Publisher: Oxford University Press

ISBN: 0198279523

Page: 206

View: 998

Nationalism and patriotism are two of the most powerful forces shaping world history. Though seen by many as two sides of the same coin, they have come to have widely different connotations. Nationalism is increasingly seen as destructive, and at the root of the world's bloodiest conflicts; patriotism seems something more benign, a political virtue. How are we to mark the distinction between these two phenomena? How can we rescue patriotism from the tainted grasp of nationalism? Reconstructing the historical the meaning of the terms, Maurizio Viroli shows how the two concepts have been used within specific cultural and ideological contexts. He reviews the political though of Italy, England, and Germany and shows how patriotism and nationalism have fundamentally different roots. Professor Viroli concludes that it is morally unacceptable, and indeed unnecessary, to be a nationalist to defend the values that nationalists hold dear. Patriotism, however, is a valuablesource of civic responsibility.

For Love and Country

For fans of Janet Beard’s The Atomic City Girls and Marie Benedict’s The Only Woman in the Room, this powerful, romantic novel tells the story of a woman determined to aid her country, finding love in the midst of tragedy along the way ...

For Love and Country

Author: Candace Waters

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1501180622

Page: 320

View: 766

For fans of Janet Beard’s The Atomic City Girls and Marie Benedict’s The Only Woman in the Room, this powerful, romantic novel tells the story of a woman determined to aid her country, finding love in the midst of tragedy along the way during World War II. When Lottie Palmer runs away the day before her wedding to join the Navy WAVES program, she not only leaves behind a fiancé, but also the privileged lifestyle that she has known as the daughter of one of the most important manufacturers in Detroit’s auto industry. Spurred by a desire to contribute meaningfully to the war effort, Lottie pours all of her focus and determination into becoming the best airplane mechanic in the division, working harder than she’s ever worked before. Her grit impresses her handsome instructor, Captain Luke Woodward. But when the war ramps up and she is assigned to Pearl Harbor she must fight her growing feelings for Luke and navigate her role as one of the only female mechanics among a group of men, all while finding out what it means to be your own hero. Illuminating the story of a woman who sets out to make a difference in the world by following her heart, Candace Waters draws on her extensive research, transporting us from Detroit to New York, and San Diego to Pearl Harbor during the tumultuous time of World War II.

How to Love a Country

Charged with the utopian idea that no single narrative is more important than another, this book asserts that America could and ought someday to be a country where all narratives converge into one, a country we can all be proud to love and ...

How to Love a Country

Author: Richard Blanco

Publisher:

ISBN: 0807025917

Page: 112

View: 305

A new collection from the renowned inaugural poet exploring immigration, gun violence, racism, LGBTQ issues, and more, in accessible and emotive verses As presidential inaugural poet, memoirist, public speaker, educator, and advocate, Richard Blanco has crisscrossed the nation inviting communities to connect to the heart of human experience and our shared identity as a country. In this new collection of poems, his first in over seven years, Blanco continues to invite a conversation with all Americans. Through an oracular yet intimate and accessible voice, he addresses the complexities and contradictions of our nationhood and the unresolved sociopolitical matters that affect us all. The poems form a mosaic of seemingly varied topics: the Pulse Nightclub massacre; an unexpected encounter on a visit to Cuba; the forced exile of 8,500 Navajos in 1868; a lynching in Alabama; the arrival of a young Chinese woman at Angel Island in 1938; the incarceration of a gifted writer; and the poet's abiding love for his partner, who he is finally allowed to wed as a gay man. But despite each poem's unique concern or occasion, all are fundamentally struggling with the overwhelming question of how to love this country. Seeking answers, Blanco digs deep into the very marrow of our nation through poems that interrogate our past and present, grieve our injustices, and note our flaws, but also remember to celebrate our ideals and cling to our hopes. In the landmark poem "American Wandersong," which forms the center of the book, the poet reveals himself to readers in a disarming and kinetic sequence of stanzas, striving to find his place amid the physical and emotional landscapes of our country. Through this groundbreaking volume, Blanco unravels the very fabric of the American narrative and pursues a resolution to the inherent contradiction of our nation's psyche and mandate: e pluribus unum (out of many, one). Charged with the utopian idea that no single narrative is more important than another, this book asserts that America could and ought someday to be a country where all narratives converge into one, a country we can all be proud to love and where we can all truly thrive.

Love in the Country

Friendship, a newcomer - and romance ... from the author of THE VILLAGE GREEN AFFAIR.

Love in the Country

Author: Rebecca Shaw

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1409106853

Page: 320

View: 288

Friendship, a newcomer - and romance ... from the author of THE VILLAGE GREEN AFFAIR. When Seb joins Barleybridge, the last thing on his mind is romance. Keen to settle into his first real job and make a good impression he embraces the working life of a country vet. He has almost forgotten his high maintenance ex-girlfriend Carly and concentrates on settling down to a job he really loves. Seb is to find that his expertise with animals and their owners leads to a friendship with the upper-class Jilly and rather more than that with Maggie whose family is heartbroken when he diagnoses their alpacas with TB. But when a surprise meeting in the Practice itself turns his world upside down...

For Love of Country

For Love of Country is the second novel of the early American republic in the nautical series from William Hammond.

For Love of Country

Author: William Hammond

Publisher: Naval Institute Press

ISBN: 1612510124

Page: 239

View: 960

In the late 18th century, Richard Cutler attempts to both save his family from Barbary pirates and his one true love and her daughters from the guillotine during the French Revolution, with help from U.S. naval commander John Paul Jones along the way.

Records of Patriotism and Love of Country

Receive this sword , which has never been tarnished by dishonour , and let it not
be inactive while the Liberty of your country is endangered . Take my last adieu ,
accept my blessing , and return to your duty .'_ GARDEN . Love of country is not ...

Records of Patriotism and Love of Country

Author: William BAILEY (Dramatist.)

Publisher:

ISBN:

Page: 216

View: 386

True Love Is My Country

Rose Bretano’s world has fallen apart.

True Love Is My Country

Author: Insa Rose Vermeeren

Publisher: Strategic Book Publishing & Rights Agency

ISBN: 1950860140

Page: 422

View: 816

Rose Bretano’s world has fallen apart. Not only does her boyfriend leave, but the pillars of her working world also crumble. Unexpectedly gifted with a temporary, out-of-the-ordinary love experience, Rose’s life takes a twist. She sets out to find meaning, not aware that her life has become a microcosm of a world in transition. Caught in a tug-of-war between her old world and a new one, she faces the ups and downs of a pioneer. When the pull threatens to tear her apart, Rose exiles herself from democracy. Leaving Germany for England, she spends happy years as a writer, but then her money runs out. Cut short from her life as an artist and unable to merge back to her old life, she’s confronted with a devastating decision. Jeff Wagner, a good-looking American, who’s divorced, a thwarted poet and journalist, crosses her path and tries to liberate Rose from her fate. She refuses, but leaves him her manuscript with the words, “Read, and if you still think you can help, come back!” On a quest to find the key to Rose’s heart, Jeff must first confront his own past. “True liberation for women implies the liberation of men,” he reads. It dawns on him that Rose’s betterment requires his own evolution. Can he live up to the hopes of a woman equipped with a road map for the future? And, will he agree to the changing role for men in the dawning era of women?